print preview

Nils Liess

For many years Nils Liess, who comes from Geneva, has trained at the Swiss Swimming Training Base at CST. The Aiuto Sportivo Foundation elected him Swiss sport’s young hopeful for 2014.

Nils Liess

During the 2013/2014 season, Nils Liess took part in many international competitions. His best results include excellent performances in the Olympic Youth Games in Nanjing (China), where the youngster finished fourth in the 200m butterfly and sixth in the 100m. Nils Liess hold several national records in his age group. In 2014, in Bellinzona, he set an absolute record in the 5000m with an exceptional time of 53:54.54. 

When did you first hear about Tenero?
Some years ago, from my brother Alex. He moved to Tenero before me. After five years’ hard training in the CST pools he realized his dream of competing in the 2012 Olympic Games in London. This was an inspiration for me, and I wanted to follow in his footsteps. 

What does the National Youth Sports Centre in Tenero mean to you?
For the last three years, CST has been my home. Here I have everything I need to achieve my sporting and academic objectives. 

How would you describe your life at CST?
Here you find the perfect conditions for training, because the facilities are nearby and the staff are on hand to assist. The perfect combination of sporting activities and academic studies also gives me the time I need for rest and recreation. 

Tell us the three main factors that make Tenero the right choice for you.
Firstly, the clement weather, which allows me to train in the outdoor pool for several months of the year. This is a very important factor for us swimmers. At Tenero, everything revolves around sport, and the efforts we make in training are duly recognized, as are our successes in competition. The other factors are the natural surroundings and the facilities. They are ideal for planning a long-term career.

 

May 2015

print preview

Nils Liess

Der Genfer Nils Liess hat mehrere Jahre in der Training Base von Swiss Swimming am CST trainiert. Die Stiftung Schweizer Sporthilfe hat ihn zum Nachwuchssportler 2014 gewählt.

Nils Liess

In der Saison 2013/14 hat Nils Liess an mehreren internationalen Wettkämpfen teilgenommen. Zu den Höhepunkten gehören die Olympischen Jugendspiele in Nanjing (China), wo der junge Genfer über 200 m Delfin Vierter und über 100 m Schwimmen Sechster wurde. Nils Liess hält zahlreiche Schweizer Altersklassenrekorde. 2014 hat er in Bellinzona mit der hervorragenden Zeit von 53:54.54 den Schweizer Rekord über 5000 m aufgestellt. 

Wann bist du zum ersten Mal mit Tenero in Kontakt gekommen?
Vor einigen Jahren, dank meinem Bruder Alex. Er ist noch vor mir nach Tenero gegangen. In den Schwimmanlagen des CST hat er fünf Jahre hart trainiert und sich seinen Traum, die Teilnahme an den Olympischen Spielen in London 2012, erfüllt. Das hat mich inspiriert und ich wollte in seine Fussstapfen treten. 

Was bedeutet dir das Sportzentrum Tenero?
Das CST ist seit drei Jahren mein Zuhause. Ich finde hier alles, was ich für meinen sportlichen und schulischen Erfolg benötige. 

Wie würdest du deinen Alltag im CST beschreiben?
Im CST findet man ideale Trainingsbedingungen, kurze Wege und gute Unterstützung. Der Tagesablauf zwischen Schule und Sport ist perfekt abgestimmt, somit bleibt auch noch Zeit für genügend Erholung. 

Kannst du uns drei Dinge nennen, die das CST ausmachen?
Vor allem sicher das Wetter und somit die Möglichkeit, einige Monate draussen im Freibad zu trainieren, das ist wichtig für uns Schwimmer. Man lebt und versteht hier den Sport – somit erhalten wir auch die Anerkennung für unseren grossen Trainingsaufwand und die sportlichen Erfolge. Die beiden anderen Faktoren sind das Umfeld und die Anlagen. Alles ist ideal für den Aufbau einer langfristigen Karriere. 

Mai 2015