Our history

CST was founded in 1963. This site previously housed an agricultural sanatorium. Our history at a glance.

Storia1

Early days

The history of CST is closely linked to that of the foundation "Swiss National Donation for our Soldiers and their Families" (SNS). In November 1921, SNS set up an agricultural sanatorium in Tenero with the aim of rehabilitating wounded Swiss soldiers who were struggling with their health following the First World War. The theme of this sanatorium was: "Whoever kneels to the ground shall rise again".

Between 1922 and 1933, a total of 1,396 war invalids came to "La Cura" – an average of around 116 patients per year. The largest influx was recorded in 1932. During this year, the sanatorium took in 276 patients. 1,073 patients – 77% of all recovered guests, most of whom were admitted through the federal military insurance scheme – left the sanatorium after an average stay of 92 days.

Storia2

From agriculture to sport
In 1963, the Swiss Federal Sports School Magglingen (ESSM) signed a partnership agreement with SNS for the free use of 3.6 hectares of land in Tenero – with the intention of running preliminary training courses in summer. The programme was built on the principle of active outdoor holidays and included swimming, orienteering, field sports and excursions in the region.
This partnership was so successful that SNS and ESSM concluded a contract in 1966 for the ownership, use and maintenance of the sports centre.

The National Youth Sports Centre was born
In 1996, SNS dissolved the management of the agricultural business. A large piece of land was sold to the federal government for a total of 12 million Swiss francs. ESSM, which became the Swiss Federal Institute of Sport Magglingen (SFISM) the following year, has been responsible for the management and administration of CST since 1997.

 


National Youth Sports Centre Via Brere
CH-6598 Tenero
Tel.
+41 58 468 61 11
Fax
+41 58 468 61 02

E-Mail


Reception

Daily from 8 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Office hours may be limited at weekends from November to February.



Print contact

National Youth Sports Centre

Via Brere
CH-6598 Tenero

Show map

Download

Histoire

Le CST a été fondé en 1963. Le terrain accueillait jadis un établissement agricole de soins. Voici les étapes-clés de son histoire.

Storia1

Les débuts
La naissance du CST est étroitement liée à l'histoire de la fondation «Don national suisse pour nos soldats et leurs familles» (DNS). En novembre 1921, au sortir de la Première Guerre mondiale, le DNS décide de construire un établissement agricole de soins à Tenero pour aider les soldats suisses à se réinsérer dans la société civile, avec pour slogan:«qui se penche sur la terre se relève».

Entre 1922 et 1933, ce centre de convalescence admettra 1396 patients militaires, soit une moyenne de 116 par an, avec un pic de 276 admissions en 1932. Sur l'ensemble des patients, envoyés pour la plupart par l'assurance militaire fédérale, 1073 (77%) quittent l'établissement guéris au terme d'un séjour d'une durée moyenne de 92 jours.

Storia2

Entre agriculture et sport
En 1963, l'Ecole fédérale de gymnastique et de sport de Macolin passe un accord avec le DNS, qui lui donne accès gratuitement à 3,6 hectares de la propriété de Tenero pour y organiser ses cours d'instruction préparatoire d'été. Le programme, conçu sur le modèle des vacances sportives en plein air, comprend natation, course d'orientation, sports en terrain varié et excursions dans la région.

Ce partenariat évolue tant et si bien qu'en 1966, le DNS et l'Ecole fédérale signent un contrat régissant la propriété, l'utilisation et l'entretien du centre sportif.

Centre fédérateur de la jeunesse
Le DNS met fin à l'exploitation agricole en 1996; une grande partie des terrains est vendue à la Confédération pour un montant total de 12 millions de francs. Dès 1997, la direction et l'administration du CST sont assumées par l'EFSG, rebaptisée Office fédéral du sport l'année suivante.


Centre sportif national de la jeunesse Via Brere
CH-6598 Tenero
Tél.
+41 58 468 61 11
Fax
+41 58 468 61 02

E-Mail


Réception

Ouverte tous les jours de 8h à 18h.

Réduction possible des heures d’ouverture le week-end entre novembre et février.



Imprimer contact

Centre sportif national de la jeunesse

Via Brere
CH-6598 Tenero

Voir la carte

Document à télécharger